Checkpoint Charlie

US Army Checkpoint

In the summer of 2010 I embarked upon a great European journey with my new Husband. A Honeymoon of sorts – but without all the sex, comfort and excess that usually shadows over the standard matrimonial genesis. We chose instead to drive 5000 formidable km in a synoptic 2 week span.

Our first stop was Berlin – Flughafen Schonefeld. where we rented the car that would end up being our dining room, observation deck and primary sleeping quarters until we landed at the ferry in Calais. Keep in mind, as per my usual, this trip was taken without previous arrangement.

No reservation for the rental car, no idea where we were going to stay, not even a proper map to get us out of the airport…and of course, no sense of direction (in Germany at least!). ‘By the seat of my pants’ is how I have always chosen to go. They don’t call it running for nothing.

I have been to Berlin before. On my last visit in 2007, I did not make it to famed ‘Checkpoint Charlie‘. I was hosting a rapid fire European tour filled with foreign language University students. There was just not enough time to see everything. I was very disappointed.

I have always found that if you are open to it, the ‘Universe’ (whatever that means!) will ‘throw you a bone’ from time to time. As we were driving from the airport in our standard small rental car, trying to make heads or tails of the free map that came with the rental, we happened upon Checkpoint Charlie. Literally by chance. As the navigator I had not the slightest clue of where we were.

Across the street

One of my standards in a new country is to find their Middle Eastern food (when possible) for my first feed on foreign land – or as I call it ‘my landing meal’. Take the donair; an excellent and filling meal that is easy on the tummy – and if done right, contains all food groups. AND donair shops are often open late, and late it was. Fantastic.

So we stopped to get a bite and directly across the street is ‘Euro-seat-of-pants-tour’  site #1 – Checkpoint Charlie. Perfect, thank’s Universe!

Orbs at Checkpoint Charlie

…Aaaaannnnd I just have to point out the 3rd and 4th photos in the slide show. They were taken seconds from each other – without cleaning or altering anything with the camera lens. Notice the mass of ‘Orbs’ in the 3rd photo and the foggy mass in the 4th (orbs I have seen before – but whats that?!). I will leave the speculation to you, I am just pointing it out!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

You can follow this trip by heading to the ‘8 Country EU Tour‘ section, or you can enjoy many more photos of Germany by heading to the Habitual Runaway on Facebook.

(continued)

4 responses to “Checkpoint Charlie

    • Thank you =D. Berlin isn’t the most beautiful, but it certainly has a lot of history, and the people are great. You will love it if you make it out for a visit – so much to see and do!

      Like

Your thoughts;

