Netherlands/Holland – The Notes

Kinda Dirty Here

We had intended to drive straight to Amsterdam from Hamburg, but thankfully made a stop along the way in beautiful Bremen. The medieval section of Bremen was certainly one of the most impressive I have seen.

That is one of the joys of renting a car and road tripping through your destination – you can stop whenever and wherever you want. Of course there are down sides too – getting lost, learning to drive ‘with’ the locals, finding and paying for parking, and being responsible for a vehicle in general.

Ok, a few detriments – but we will do it again (and again, and again). For us, it was worth the sacrifices (most of the time).

Terrible Feet

I had forgotten to mention that my husband loves to moonwalk – and he is very good at it! Sideways, backwards and frontwards – he has skills.

And when he gets happy or excited, he wants to moonwalk. Needless to say, finding medieval Bremen made us very happy. And yes, I learned how to spell ‘medieval’.

It was later than I remembered when we pulled into Amsterdam, but still sunny and warm. I can’t believe that I failed to mention the hilarious group of gay men who took a strong liking to my husband.

At the time we were entirely discombobulated from our ‘coffee shop’ experience – we must have looked such a sight to them – but they obviously thought my husband was particularly interesting, as their hilarious broken English ‘cat calls’ affirmed.

Gorgeous Bremen

‘To the best of my ability, I choose not to poop my pants’. Yes, I really did say that, during our hideous self-inflicted horror show, and we laughed about it afterward it for days.

Did you think I was joking? Admittedly, it really wasn’t funny at the time – I was dead serious. And you can tell by my senseless disconnected notes that my brain wasn’t firing properly either!

Thankfully a full recovery was made. Not too many brain cells lost…

Bobs Hostel NL

‘Kinda dirty here’ (in Amsterdam), my husband thought – and yes, Amsterdam is a bit gritty, not as clean as many other European cities, and definitely pervasively ‘seedy’ when compared to our modest community at home. Of course that is part of its charm.

We didn’t make it to Luxembourg or Liege this time around, but having been to both before, I have a few interesting stories to share at a later date.

You can follow this trip by heading to the ‘8 Country EU Tour‘ section, and you can enjoy many more photos of the EU by heading to the Habitual Runaway on Facebook.

Your thoughts;

