The Enchanted Forest

Blue Shutters

I like cute things. Toys, little houses, tiny flowers, sparkly bits – it doesn’t matter. And though I have passed many times and wanted to stop, until now, I had not checked out this very cute attraction located near Revelstoke along the Trans Canada Highway.

The Enchanted Forest can be seen clearly from the highway. If you are feeling energetic, once inside, you can climb to the top of one of the castle turrets that greets you at the entryway.

Castle At The Enchanted Forest

My husband is tolerant of my liking (and collection) of cute things, and though he really didn’t care to go to the Enchanted Forest, he is good at not complaining.

He would later admit (readily) to being entirely surprised by his enjoyment of the site.

In attendance with us were my sister and her young family.

Dave & Ana at the Enchanted Forest

The Enchanted Forest story is one of working hard to make dreams come true. It was one family that cleared, developed and built the attraction.

Initially this was a private home, whose owner had a love for fashioning (cute) fairytale things out of cement.

Her husband decided that she needed somewhere to showcase her artworks, and found the land now known as the Enchanted Forest.

The Story Of The Enchanted Forest

Before long people we coming requesting to view their ‘enchanting’ fairytale land. After almost a decade of this, they opened to the public in 1960.

The forest is filled with fantastic paths that weave and wind up, down and around, passing fantastical sets and beautiful views.

And, pets are allowed (on leash, of course), so Jim was very happy about our visit.

David & Jim Overlooking the Paths

Surprisingly, we found ourselves having a fantastic time – all of us.

Laughing and carrying on, being excited to turn each corner and explore each new tiny home, fairytale diorama and treehouse.

 Tiny Homes At The Enchanted Forest

The interiors of the teeny constructions were built out as well. Some with bedrooms, little desks and chairs, one with a kitchen. There was something to see behind each door.

Posing in the Tree

Another moment I wished I had some land – though I do love the floaty (float home) life that I live – I won’t be building replicas of the three little pig homes (to scale) any time soon!

Brick House Yellow Door

Amongst it all were two entirely phenomenal tree houses worth an extra mention (and more than a few photographs!).

I could live in the one pictured below.

Treehouse

The construction quality was remarkably high. I was impressed, even from a distance – and I did not expect the interior to be decorated as creatively as it was.

Ceiling Of Treehouse Treehouse Window

Built atop an enormous stump, the ceiling was mural-led to represent the sky, and the interior was finished with tables, desks, a seating area and a place I could have imagined myself sleeping.

Beautiful Treehouse

And a covered balcony. Awesome!

Treehouse Balcony

The second, pictured below, claims to be the tallest in BC – I won’t argue that.

All said, I would rate the Enchanted Forest as definitely worth the entry fee. There is no time limit to how long you can stay and meander the paths (other than operational hours) – and there is much more to see and do than mentioned here.

I regret it took me so long to force a stop – usually when we pass this location we are well on our way somewhere else.

I know we will be back – we still want to do the Skytrek Adventure Tour.

Tall Treehouse

(And they have some beautiful things in the gift shop – far better than the standard reproduction souvenir crap).

Additional photos in the slideshow.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

You can follow this trip by heading to the ‘Mountain Retreat‘ section, or you can enjoy many more photos of British Columbia by heading to the Habitual Runaway on Facebook.

(continued)

7 responses to “The Enchanted Forest

  1. oh, what a wonderfully dreamy, uplifting article! Thank you so much for taking the time to write and photograph and choreograph everything so much so well that it enlightens and lifts. Thank you.

    Like

    • Awe, thanks :). I can’t help but to see everywhere I go as a story to share. I felt that way before I started blogging – which is why I have so many old notes & such. Not sure why, but it has always been that way – maybe it is a mental health issue! LOL 😛

      Like

Your thoughts;

